Drivers caught red-handed holding phone

Summary:Starting July 1, California drivers caught holding their cell phones to their ear while driving are being slapped with a $20 dollar ticket for the first offense, and a $50 ticket for the second. CNET.com's Kara Tsuboi rode along with the California Highway Patrol near Berkeley, Calif., as officers nabbed violators on the first day of the law.

Topics: Wi-Fi, Mobility, Telcos

Kick off your day with ZDNet's daily email newsletter. It's the freshest tech news and opinion, served hot. Get it.

Related Stories

The best of ZDNet, delivered

You have been successfully signed up. To sign up for more newsletters or to manage your account, visit the Newsletter Subscription Center.
Subscription failed.