Directory: 100 technology experts on Twitter

Directory: 100 technology experts on Twitter

Summary: One the most important things to do when you first start using Twitter is to develop a good list of people to follow. Here is a big head start for technology professionals: A list of 100 tech experts who are active in Twitter.

SHARE:

One the most important -- and most difficult -- things to do when you first start using Twitter is to develop a good list of people to follow. You can check your friends' lists of followers, watch for interesting people that come up in @replies, and look for personalities and brands who promote their Twitter addresses. But, it can take several months to build up a good list. For technology professionals, I'm going to give you a big head start.

This is part three of my three-part series on Twitter. Here are links to the other two parts:

Below is a list of 100 technology experts who are active on Twitter. This list is dominated by tech media professionals and pundits but also includes some CEOs, CTOs, and developers who are worth listening to.

Still, even if you choose to follow everyone on my list, I'd encourage you to regularly cull the list of people you follow. If someone regularly posts useless information or lots of stuff you don't care about, unfollow the person. That's what I do. I keep the list of people I follow to about 100-200 and I often add new people while regularly weeding out my list of people who aren't providing anything interesting or useful.

For more insights on technology, you can also follow my Twitter stream: @JasonHiner

I wish there was an easy way for you to simply push a button and add all 100 people on this list to your "following" list on Twitter. Unfortunately, there's not. So you will need to go to the Twitter profile of each person you're interested in Following. This is something that Twitter needs to improve. It needs a group or list feature so that people can set up lists like this and users can then follow the entire list with a single click. It should function the same way OPML files function for lists of RSS feeds.

So here is the list, which is not ranked 1-100 but simply listed in alphabetical order. If there are others you think should be added to the list, make a note in the comments.

  1. Chris Anderson (@chr1sa) Editor in Chief of Wired and author of The Long Tail
  2. Michael Arrington (@techcrunch) Founder of TechCrunch
  3. John Battelle (@johnbattelle) Author and pundit on Google and Internet search
  4. Veronica Belmont (@veronica) Former CNET TV and Mahalo Daily host
  5. Randall Bennett (@randallb) Founder of TechVi; former CNET TV producer
  6. David Berlind (@dberlind) TechWeb Editor-at-Large
  7. Ryan Block (@ryanblock) Former Engadget editor and co-founder of GDGT
  8. Henry Blodget (@hblodget) Controversial Wall Street journalist who covers tech sector
  9. Danah Boyd (@zephoria) Academic/researcher in new media
  10. Ed Bott (@edbott) Microsoft Windows expert, blogger, book author
  11. Jason Calacanis (@jasoncalacanis) CEO of Mahalo, founder of Weblogs Inc.
  12. Pete Cashmore (@mashable) CEO of Mashable
  13. David Davis (@davidmdavis) Author, blogger, expert on Cisco and virtualization technologies
  14. Chris Dawson (@mrdatahs) ZDNet blogger on technology in education
  15. Natali Del Conte (@natalidelconte) CNET TV host of Loaded and tech correspondent for CBS News
  16. Mrinal Desai (@mrinaldesai) Co-founder of CrossLoop; tech news junkie
  17. Sam Diaz (@sammyd) ZDNet news hound on the Between the Lines blog
  18. Larry Dignan (@ldignan) ZDNet Editor in Chief; prolific tech news blogger
  19. Esther Dyson (@edyson) Veteran technology pundit
  20. Matt Cutts (@mattcutts) Google engineer, blogger
  21. Bill Detwiler (@billdetwiler) TechRepublic's head technology editor
  22. John C. Dvorak (@therealdvorak) Famously cranky tech pundit
  23. Erik Eckel (@erikeckel) IT consultant and TechRepublic writer
  24. Mike Elgan (@mike_elgan) Widely-published freelance tech writer
  25. Rob Enderle (@enderle) Long-time analyst of the PC industry
  26. Caterina Fake (@caterina) Co-founder of Flickr
  27. Dan Farber (@dbfarber) Editor of CBSNews.com; former editor of CNET and ZDNet
  28. Scot Finnie (@sfinnie) Editor in Chief of Computerworld
  29. Mary Jo Foley (@maryjofoley) One of the world's top commentators on Microsoft
  30. Ina Fried (@inafried) CNET's resident Microsoft analyst
  31. John Furrier (@furrier) Silicon Valley entrepreneur; now specializing in mobility
  32. Steve Gillmor (@stevegillmor) Editor of TechCrunch IT, veteran tech journalist
  33. Bob Gourley (@bobgourley) CTOvision.com blogger; government IT expert
  34. John Gruber (@gruber) Author of Daring Fireball blog; covers mostly Apple
  35. Dion Hinchcliffe (@dhinchcliffe) Blogger and consultant on Web 2.0 for business
  36. Chuck Hollis (@chuckhollis) EMC CTO and blogger
  37. Andy Ihnatko (@ihnatko) Apple pundit
  38. Jeff Jarvis (@jeffjarvis) Professor and author who covers intersection and tech and media
  39. Mitch Kapor (@mkapor) Lotus, Mozilla pioneer; angel investor
  40. Guy Kawasaki (@guykawasaki) Venture capitalist and former Mac columnist
  41. Michael Krigsman (@mkrigsman) Watchdog of IT project failures
  42. Sarah Lacy (@sarahcuda) Freelance author covering Silicon Valley
  43. Leo Laporte (@leolaporte) Host of TWiT network and former TechTV host
  44. Brian Lam (@blam) Editorial Director of Gizmodo
  45. Nicole Lee (@nicole) CNET editor on cellphones and smartphones
  46. Jennifer Leggio (@mediaphyter) ZDNet blogger on social media for business
  47. Cali Lewis (@calilewis) Host of GeekBrief.TV
  48. Charlene Li (@charleneli) Author and social media thought leader
  49. Jim Louderback (@jlouderb) CEO of Revision3; former editor of PC Magazine
  50. Scott Lowe (@scottdlowe) CIO, author, and TechRepublic columnist
  51. Andrew Mager (@mager) Web developer and ZDNet blogger on Web 2.0
  52. Om Malik (@om) Founder of GigaOm
  53. Amber MacArther (@ambermac) Tech journalist and broadcaster
  54. Richard MacManus (@rww) Editor and founder of ReadWriteWeb
  55. Marissa Mayer (@marissamayer) Google product development executive
  56. Caroline McCarthy (@caro) CNET writer covering Web 2.0
  57. Harry McCracken (@harrymccracken) Founder of Technologizer and former editor of PC World
  58. Tom Merritt (@acedtect) Host of Buzz Out Loud and various CNET TV shows
  59. Walt Mossberg (@waltmossberg) Tech columnist for The Wall Street Journal
  60. Rafe Needleman (@rafe) Editor of CNET's Webware
  61. Patrick Norton (@patricknorton) Tekzilla host and former TechTV personality
  62. Andrew Nusca (@editorialiste) ZDNet news writer; SmartPlanet.com editor
  63. Tim O'Reilly (@timoreilly) Founder and CEO of O'Reilly Media
  64. Jeremiah Owyang (@jowyang) Forrester analyst on new media technologies
  65. Jason Perlow (@jperlow) ZDNet blogger and Linux Magazine writer
  66. Chris Pirillo (@chrispirillo) Tech geek turned Internet personality
  67. Jason Pontin (@jason_pontin) Editor in Chief of MIT Technology Review
  68. David Pogue (@pogue) Tech columnist for New York Times and CNBC
  69. JR Rafael (@jr_raphael) Tech news writer for PC World
  70. Maggie Reardon (@maggie_reardon) CNET reporter on mobile and wireless technology
  71. Don Reisinger (@donreisinger) Gadget columnist for CNET
  72. Gabe Rivera (@gaberivera) Founder of Techmeme
  73. Peter Rojas (@peterrojas) Original creator of both Gizmodo and Engadget
  74. Kevin Rose (@kevinrose) Founder of Digg.com, host of Diggnation
  75. Joshua Schachter (@joshu) Creator of Delicious, a.k.a. del.icio.us
  76. Jack Schofield (@jackschofield) Computer editor at The Guardian
  77. Erick Schonfeld (@erickschonfeld) TechCrunch editor
  78. Robert Scoble (@scobleizer) Tech writer and social media flag-bearer
  79. Sascha Seagan (@saschasegan) Mobile writer for PC Magazine
  80. Doc Searls (@dsearls) Tech journalist, author, open source advocate
  81. Stephen Shankland (@stshank) CNET News reporter, covering Web and search
  82. Deb Shinder (@debshinder) Popular tech tip writer for TechRepublic and other publications
  83. Dwight Silverman (@dsilverman) Technology editor for the Houston Chronicle
  84. Jason Snell (@jsnell) Editorial Director of Macworld
  85. Mark Spoonauer (@mspoonauer) Editor in Chief of LAPTOP
  86. Robert Strohmeyer (@rstrohmeyer) PC World editor and columnist
  87. Kara Swisher (@karaswisher) Silicon Valley blogger for AllThingsD.com
  88. Paul Thurrott (@thurrott) Microsoft Windows columnist, editor, and podcaster
  89. Joshua Topolsky (@joshuatopolsky) Editor in Chief of Engadget
  90. Gina Trapani (@ginatrapani) Founding editor of Lifehacker.com
  91. Lance Ulanoff (@lanceulanoff) Editor in Chief of PC Magazine
  92. Rick Vanover (@rickvanover) Senior IT professional and TechRepublic blogger
  93. Tony Vincent (@tonyvincent) Writer on mobile tech and IT in education
  94. Werner Vogels (@werner) Amazon.com CTO
  95. Jack Wallen (@jlwallen) Linux enthusiast, columnist, and tip writer
  96. Padmasree Warrior (@padmasree) CTO of Cisco Systems
  97. Fred Wilson (@fredwilson) Tech venture capitalist in New York
  98. Alex Wolfe (@awolfe58) Editor in Chief of InformationWeek
  99. Molly Wood (@mollywood) CNET TV host and creator of the famed "Molly rant"
  100. Dave Zatz (@davezatz) Gadget and digital lifestyle blogger

Topics: Browser, Social Enterprise

Kick off your day with ZDNet's daily email newsletter. It's the freshest tech news and opinion, served hot. Get it.

Talkback

30 comments
Log in or register to join the discussion
  • a few things missing from your list

    nice list, a little heavy on the zdnet side
    though (gee, color me surprised). but what the
    heck is that jr rafael/raphael dude doing on
    there? have you seen his police record?

    missing from your list: @eSarcasm (geek humor
    gone wild).

    fyi, here's a better way to choose whom to
    follow on twitter:

    http://www.esarcasm.com/3687/to-follow-or-not-
    to-follow-a-twitter-guide/

    dt (also not on your list, dammit).
    snarkydan
    • This must be ...

      Dan Tynan. True?

      And, yes, I probably should have had you on the list. Sorry, there's definitely more people I would have liked to have squeezed into the list.
      jasonhiner
      • Where is Thomas Ward?

        I know for a fact that Thomas Ward is on Twitter, and he has been working in the technology industry since 2005. He has written for numerous technology blogs, magazines, and newspapers. I know this for a fact because I used to work with him, and he's one of the biggest technology experts I know. He has a YouTube account, as well, at http://www.youtube.com/theMINDofWARD and he has been a leading advocate for free and open source software.
        mikemchale
      • RE: Directory: 100 technology experts on Twitter

        @Jason Hiner .. Can you help me with a few list of technology experts I can contact for my project. I really need their help on my new social networking website. Thank you so much for your help...
        temben
  • RE: Directory: 100 technology experts on Twitter

    Congrats Buddy.!! You deserve a lot more than
    this.!!
    Your technology expertise and candid feedback
    is always appreciated by many enthusiasts
    across the world.

    Cheers'
    Vijay Raj
    MS-MVP [Setup-Deploy]
    Weblog: www.msigeek.com
    msigeek
  • Not one frigging corporate CIO?

    seriously all of us in Twitter world need to step back and ask how reassuring is a list of 100 "experts" when not one corporate CIO is on the list. Are we creating an echo-chamber far removed from IT $$?

    http://dealarchitect.typepad.com/deal_architect/2009/08/not-one-frigging-corporate-cio.html
    vmirchan
    • Want CIOs? I've got a list for that too:

      http://blogs.zdnet.com/BTL/?p=20039

      Also, there are a few CTOs on this list: Werner Vogels, Padmasree Warrior, Bob Gourley, Chuck Hollis, etc.
      jasonhiner
      • they work for vendors

        Jason, Padmasree, Werner etc are smart as hell and I follow them..but they work for Cisco, aamzon, vendors...how can we talk about influence and experts when corporate (buyer) CIOs with over $ 2 trillion in spending power and expertise are absent or just have a token presence?
        vmirchan
        • This list is more about thought leaders than business leaders

          However, I'm considering doing a separate list that would be smaller (maybe 40-50) and would be focused on enterprise tech leaders. That list would be dominated by a lot of CIOs and would have a lot fewer media personalities.
          jasonhiner
          • dont get me wrong

            I am glad you recognize who is influential within the Twitter community. Just making the point it is far removed from enterprise tech...if Gary Reiner, Rob Carter who are early adopters of bunches of technologies etc are not on Twitter either they need to be recruited or they do not see the value...that was my point
            vmirchan
  • RE: Directory: 100 technology experts on Twitter

    Thanks for including me, Jason. I'm honored!
    deb@...
  • RE: Directory: 100 technology experts on Twitter

    if you think the network has some importance in technology - we certainly do - : ), then you might want to follow @ciscosystems
    JohnEarnhardt
  • RE: Directory: 100 technology experts on Twitter

    How about some opensource people?
    @bdalegarbee
    @chrisblizzard
    @jdub
    @storming
    @migueldeicaza
    @cdibona
    @jonobacon
    @castrojo

    Just to name a few.
    jayson.rowe
  • RE: Directory: 100 technology experts on Twitter

    jason:

    it would indeed be moi. good guess. (you could just
    have easily guessed dylan tweney -- also not on your
    list).

    I'll just add myself.

    101. Dan Tynan (@tynan_on_tech), contributing editor
    at PCworld, Infoworld, Family Circle; chief snark
    wrangler at eSarcasm.com.

    and to be fair

    102. Dylan Tweney (@dylan20), senior editor at Wired
    News, failed Dan Tynan impersonator.

    cheers

    dt
    snarkydan
    • Fair enough

      Thanks for adding to the list :-)
      jasonhiner
  • A Self-Serving List

    Wow! The 100 pundits are predominately in the tech reporting industry. Is this what they call astro-turfing?

    Steven@...
    • no I think it's called tea-bagging

      or possibly 'death paneling'. it's so confusing
      these days.

      dt
      snarkydan
  • Additional Resources

    ZDNet readers,

    Mr. Hiner has done a great job of honoring the vendors and journalists who have contributed to Twitter. However, as many have observed, this list did little to recognize progressive thought leading corporate CIOs.

    Though not mentioned in Mr. Hiner's article, this list was inspired by the work of a fellow IT leader on Twitter, Chris Curran of Diamond Consulting. Chris's work found at http://www.ciodashboard.com/cio-twitter-dashboard/ features well over 100 top CIOs who have embraced the Twitter community. The Corporate CIOs identified by Mr. Curran have been active contributors to the twittersphere for some time.

    If an interactive group is desired, there is also a collection of more than 60 corporate CIOs and IT leaders who utilize twitter to share and interact daily on the IT executive twibe: http://www.twibes.com/group/IT_Executives.

    If you wish to engage in ongoing communications with corporate CIOs, I invite you to check out either of these forums.

    Sincerely,

    Brian Blanchard
    http://www.twitter.com/brianblanchard
    http://www.devrevival.com
    contact@...
    • Yep, Curran's list is a good one

      I've written about it before:
      http://blogs.zdnet.com/BTL/?p=20039

      It's a good list of enterprise IT leaders on Twitter.
      jasonhiner
  • RE: Directory: 100 technology experts on Twitter

    Spelling correction:

    Gina's last name is spelled Trapani (@ginatrapani)

    Cheers,
    Louis Trapani (@LouisTrapani)
    Louis Trapani