May God always bless this kind person below with peace, love and happiness (Facebook hoax)

Summary: A new hoax is spreading on Facebook trying to warn users about a new piece of malware. The problem is the malware in question doesn't actually exist.

Facebook users are warning each other about a supposed new piece of malware spreading across the social network. While these people likely have good intentions, the truth is that this is a hoax and there is no such malware.

The advice comes in the form of one of these messages:

WARNING!!!! If ever you see anyone post out an application written "May God always bless this kind person below with peace, love and happiness", with your profile picture attached below, and send by your friend via Bold Text. Please DON'T click "like" or "SHARE", is a spyware, and all your info at FB will be copy and reuse for other purpose. Please copy and paste to share this info.... also try to change your fb info such security question and password.. -repost

Attention!!!If you see anyone post out an application written "May God always bless this kind person below with peace, love and happiness", with your profile picture attached below, and send by your friend via Bold Text. Please DONT click "like" or "SHARE", is a spyware, and all your info at FB will be copy and reuse for other purpose. Please share this info out. Thanks......;)

NEW SPYWARE HACKER WARNING!! If you see anyone post a "May God always bless this kind person below with peace, love and happiness", with your profile picture attached below, and sent by your friend via Bold Text. PLEASE DO NOT CLICK "like" or SHARE"- its a spyware, and all your info at FB will be copied and reused for bad purposes. Pls share this info

It's not a virus that is spreading on Facebook. It's a Facebook app called Bold Text spamming users' Facebook Walls, according to Facecrooks. You can block this app by going to its page and clicking the Block App link in the left-hand column.

In fact, over 1 million people are reportedly using the spamming app, which means it is spreading virally. I bet Zuckerberg isn't too happy about that.

If you see one of your friends reposting this particular warning, explain to them that their computer is safe as this isn't malware. At the same time though, make sure to tell them that the app in question is sending out spam, and that they should instead tell their friends to remove it from their Facebook account.

As a general word of caution, don't blindly copy and paste warnings just because your Facebook friend's status tells you to do so. Although you probably mean well, you could be helping a hoax become more popular on the social network.

See also:

Topic: Social Enterprise

Kick off your day with ZDNet's daily email newsletter. It's the freshest tech news and opinion, served hot. Get it.

Talkback

5 comments
Log in or register to join the discussion
  • RE: May God always bless this kind person below with peace, love and happiness (Facebook hoax)

    I thought Facebook was a hoax?
    doh123
  • RE: May God always bless this kind person below with peace, love and happiness (Facebook hoax)

    So how come I can't seem to find the share on Facebook any more?

    I always like posting these stories to educate my friends.

    There's tweet, Google plus but no sign of Facebook.
    bannedagain
  • RE: May God always bless this kind person below with peace, love and happiness (Facebook hoax)

    people are sheep and software must take this into account. I got better things to do than facebook and twitter . . .
    photomstr@...
  • RE: May God always bless this kind person below with peace, love and happiness (Facebook hoax)

    Fantastic creating. Would you mind me submitting a web site hyperlink of this publish on <a href="http://www.reebok-nfl-jerseys-shop.com" style="text-decoration: none; color: black;">reebok nfl jerseys</a> my web site? It's going to assist my viewers on top notch of that.
    jackson1984-24316069205748857739440257893812
  • I need your help.

    Hello my friends. I need your help. Please have a lock at this Web site for Love and happyness, and give som feedback on what you think. Thank's. It would be of great help for me. http://made4dating.com/coachinginvest
    www.agelars.com