Google has changed how people can share articles on Google's Reader RSS tool by replacing its social component with the Google+ social network.
The changes, rolled out on Monday and announced earlier in October, replace the ability to 'like' a feed item with the ability to +1 it and share it with selected circles on Google+.
"Retiring Reader's sharing features wasn't a decision that we made lightly, but in the end, it helps us focus on fewer areas, and build an even better experience across all of Google," Alan Green, a Google software engineer, wrote in a blogpost on Monday night. "We hope you'll like the new Reader (and Google+) as much as we do, but we understand that some of you may not."
To get access to the new social features of Google Reader, people have to sign up to a Google+ account using their real name.
"Integrating with Google+ also helps us streamline Reader overall," Green said. "So starting today we'll be turning off friending, following, shared items and comments in favour of similar Google+ functionality."
The move exposes even more people to Google+, as part of the company's efforts to increase membership. In October Google said people using Google Apps within a business can now gain access to the social network.
Google isn't entirely confident the announcement will be welcomed; Green reminded people that if they "decide that the product is no longer for [them]", they can use the subscription export feature to get their feeds from the service.
People have complained that the changes mean it takes longer to share feeds with people and it amounts to a more complicated experience.