How to migrate to Hotmail or Gmail

How to migrate to Hotmail or Gmail

Summary: At the end of a job, or after leaving university, your email may not automatically follow you on your next endeavour, but it is possible to ensure they are migrated to another provider.

SHARE:

 |  Image 20 of 24

  • Thumbnail 1
  • Thumbnail 2
  • Thumbnail 3
  • Thumbnail 4
  • Thumbnail 5
  • Thumbnail 6
  • Thumbnail 7
  • Thumbnail 8
  • Thumbnail 9
  • Thumbnail 10
  • Thumbnail 11
  • Thumbnail 12
  • Thumbnail 13
  • Thumbnail 14
  • Thumbnail 15
  • Thumbnail 16
  • Thumbnail 17
  • Thumbnail 18
  • Thumbnail 19
  • Thumbnail 20
  • Thumbnail 21
  • Thumbnail 22
  • Thumbnail 23
  • Thumbnail 24
  • (Screenshot by Zack Whittaker/ZDNet US)

    Gmail: setting up new email labels

    Now you can label incoming email from your old email address to show you that it is sent to your old email address.

    Select the box saying Apply the label and select the folder you have created (and which stores your old email). You can apply this to all your old email too, by selecting the Also apply filter to messages below option.

  • (Screenshot by Zack Whittaker/ZDNet US)

    Exchange: deleting old email for good

    Deleting email in Gmail is easy. I cannot say the same thing about Exchange support email, like Live@edu or Office 365.

    You seem to need to do it in stages, as the web client can only handle so many email messages at a time. Because Live@edu and Office 365 data is on Exchange, it doesn't delete it straight away. It holds it so you can recover it if necessary.

    Select as many email messages as you can (your email client will warn you when you have reached the limit), and right-click and then hit Delete.

  • (Screenshot by Zack Whittaker/ZDNet US)

    Exchange: deleting old email for good

    Once you have deleted your email messages (remember: they are safe elsewhere; this is just the old copy), then you need to empty your deleted items.

    Right-click on the Deleted Items and select Empty Deleted Items.

    Once you have done this — to make sure that nobody in your organisation can continue to read your deleted email, they need to be fully deleted.

    Right-click on Deleted Items and select Recover Deleted Items.

Topics: Collaboration, Google, Microsoft

Kick off your day with ZDNet's daily email newsletter. It's the freshest tech news and opinion, served hot. Get it.

Related Stories

Talkback

0 comments
Log in or register to start the discussion