Nine further suppliers added to Australian govt cloud panel

Nine further suppliers added to Australian govt cloud panel

Summary: Fujitsu and Verizon headline the latest additions to the list of suppliers on the Australian government's datacentre-as-a-service multi-use list.


The Department of Finance and Deregulation has brought its total number of cloud suppliers to 66, with nine new vendors being announced today.

The companies that made the cut in this round are Fujitsu Australia, GovSource, Magnetized Markets, NTT Australia, Open Windows Australia, PretaWeb, Verizon Australia, XVT Solutions, and Yarris.

Already on the panel are suppliers such as Macquarie Telecom, Telstra, Dell, HP, IBM, TransACT, NEC IT, and Ninefold.

Despite the recent change of government in Australia, early indications are that the now-ruling Coalition parties would look to retain and increase the existing arrangements for cloud services.

"It is critical to challenge the box huggers and move, if we can, services into the cloud," the newly sworn-in Minister for Communications Malcolm Turnbull said prior to the election.

The length of time that the Department of Finance and Deregulation moniker continues to exist is expected to be short, as Mathias Cormann has been sworn in as the new Minister of Finance. Responsibility for Deregulation has been moved under the responsibilities of Prime Minster Tony Abbott, along with Indigenous affairs, national security, and "Women's policies and programs".

Topics: Cloud, Government AU, Australia


Chris started his journalistic adventure in 2006 as the Editor of Builder AU after originally joining CBS as a programmer. After a Canadian sojourn, he returned in 2011 as the Editor of TechRepublic Australia, and is now the Australian Editor of ZDNet.

Kick off your day with ZDNet's daily email newsletter. It's the freshest tech news and opinion, served hot. Get it.


Log in or register to start the discussion