Showing results 1 to 20 of 49

February 9, 2010 by

iPhone Quickoffice update 3.0 adds Google Docs, Dropbox, and

I just turned on my iPhone to check for updated applications after reading that Navigon was updated with some very cool new features and discovered that Quickoffice Connect Mobile Suite version 3.0 (iTunes link) just became available today. This new version of Quickoffice has come a long ways since my earlier review and now lets you access documents through Google Docs,, Dropbox, and MobileMe accounts while also providing general product enhancements. Without file system access it has always been a challenge for developers of these types of apps to help you access your documents and this looks like a great way to provide that support.

February 8, 2010 by

AT&T Navigator 1.5i update adds speed limit alerts, shake-to-go, to iPhone

Last June I wrote a review of AT&T Navigator for the iPhone and thought it was a very good solution for GPS navigation. I popped my SIM card in my iPhone 3GS last night and saw there was an update to version 1.5i that I read about on the TeleNav blog was just released a couple of days ago. You can find the latest version on the iTunes App Store (iTunes link) where you will also find TeleNav has a pricing option for $69.99 for a year instead of the $9.99/month option. The monthly option is convenient if you only need the navigation option for a couple months a year, but like I mentioned in my Android post the year option is the best deal.

January 7, 2010 by

Dell Inspiron 13z

While we had a few design quibbles and we'd highly recommend getting the battery upgrade, the Inspiron 13z offers exceptional value.

October 16, 2009 by

Is the Google Android platform the upcoming smartphone of choice?

My T-Mobile SIM is setup for my T-Mobile G1 Google Android device that I have owned since day 1 (see my full review) and continue to enjoy with the updates and growing Android Market application selection. T-Mobile was the first US wireless carrier to support Android and then rolled out the T-Mobile myTouch 3G to add a second Android and become the carrier of choice for Android fans. T-Mobile will be launching a third Android device, the Motorola CLIQ, very soon, but they are no longer the exclusive Android carrier. Sprint has the awesome HTC Hero with the Samsung Moment coming soon and Verizon will have a couple of devices in 2010. AT&T has nothing announced yet, but there are rumors of a Dell handset. When you decide you want an iPhone, you only have one choice in carrier and form factor, but when you now consider an Android device you can stay with your carrier and/or have a choice in form factor. Let's take a closer look at what Android devices are or will be coming to each carrier in the US, followed by my thoughts on what I have found to be the best so far.

August 17, 2009 by

TomTom arrives on the iPhone for $100

AT&T Navigator's subscription based GPS navigation solution (see our review) was the first full GPS voice navigation system for the Apple iPhone, but there is now some serious competition in the GPS navigation space that may even start knocking out dedicated PND. The biggest news today is that TomTom for the iPhone was released in the US. TomTom (iTunes link) is a well known name in PNDs and their iPhone solution is one of the most costly at $99. Other recent stand-alone (no subscription required) GPS navigation solutions for the iPhone include Navigon at a special $69.99 launch price and CoPilot Live for $34.99. There is quite a price range across these navigation solutions and we'll have to see if the high cost of TomTom is worth the premium over CoPilot Live 8.

July 15, 2009 by

iTunes update 8.2.1 breaks Palm Pre synchronization

One of the slickest and most convenient functions of the Palm Pre (see my review) was the ability to sync seamlessly with Apple iTunes. As CNET reports, the latest iTunes 8.2.1 update breaks the Palm Pre iTunes synchronization. This wasn't really unexpected, but it is a bit disappointing if Apple created this update just to break the Pre sync capability. They could have just left it alone and let those few Pre owners enjoy and continue to purchase and support iTunes.

April 18, 2009 by

Quickoffice for iPhone arrives in the App Store

I had a chance to sit down with the Quickoffice folks at CTIA and was extremely impressed with the application. Since you can never tell when applications will appear in the App Store I have been checking it every day and searching for Quickoffice. I was pleased to finally see it appear in the App Store (iTunes link) and immediately purchased it and installed it on my iPhone 3G. I will have a walk through video and review with several screenshots up as soon as I get a chance to spend more time with the application, but wanted to let you all know about it now so you could try it out too.

April 14, 2009 by

Reviews: Dell Adamo is all beauty, not enough brains

After a prolonged, elaborate marketing campaign, the Dell Adamo 13 ultraportable is finally widely available and several sites have recently posted full reviews.Reviewers agreed that the Adamo succeeded in the design department with a sturdy, aluminum case that, at 0.

March 21, 2009 by

MobileTechRoundup show #166, New devices and missing social apps

James, Kevin, and myself were all a bit tired as we recorded MobileTechRoundup show #166 early this morning after a late night of watching March Madness. We started off the show by talking about how well CBS is supporting your ability to watch and follow the action just about anywhere. James has the Sony VAIO P in house for review and told us some of his first impressions. I also just picked up a new T-Mobile BlackBerry Curve 8900 and offered some thoughts. The E71 may be coming to AT&T next week and Kevin voiced his frustrations with finding a Facebook application for S60. This raised the issue of the lack of social applications on S60 devices. Dell launched the Adamo this last week, but we aren't really sure if it is a good device at this time of economic uncertainty.


You have been successfully signed up. To sign up for more newsletters or to manage your account, visit the Newsletter Subscription Center.
Subscription failed.
See All
See All

Most Popular