Email+review

Showing results 1 to 19 of 19

Symantec targets social data in Enterprise Vault 10

Symantec has released a new version of its Enterprise Vault email and content archiving product that makes it easier to scan Microsoft Exchange emails and metadata for potential data leaks.Enterprise Vault 10, announced on Monday, integrates Symantec's data loss prevention technology so email content and metadata can be flagged for compliance review, while also being automatically classified and assigned the correct archiving and retention policy.

August 2, 2011 by

Can Google get Buzz privacy right?

Google is reworking its privacy settings again for the oft-maligned Buzz social media/email aggregation tool. Primarily, the company is asking Buzz users to review their settings, who they're following, who is following them, and who sees public versus private Buzz posts.

April 5, 2010 by

T-Mobile Samsung Behold II will be powered by Google Android

You may have seen my review of the Samsung Behold feature phone last December. I received an email from my T-Mobile contact today announcing the Samsung Behold II (SGH-t939) and I almost discarded it as just another update to a good feature phone. However, as I read down further in the press release I quickly noticed that this isn't just a feature phone update, but a whole new device powered by the Google Android operating system. Yes, the Samsung Behold II is a Google Android device and this will be the fourth Android device available from T-Mobile with the T-Mobile G1, myTouch 3G, and Motorola CLIQ rounding out the lineup.

October 4, 2009 by

Quickoffice for iPhone update 1.2 brings predictive text and more

Quickoffice was the first to launch an Office suite for the iPhone and as I wrote in my review I was pleased with most of the functionality in the software, but there were a couple of glaring issues that kept me from whole-heartedly recommending that application. I saw the version 1.2 update appear on my iPhone 3G this weekend and am pleased to report that this update included some MAJOR additions that leave me satisfied after paying $20 for the application. I still want to see email attachment support because that is how many documents pass through my mobile devices.

May 31, 2009 by

Physics Sandbox 2

Newest Physics Sandbox!Set up sweet domino paths, crate towers, and whatever else you can think of.. then blow it all up with your...

October 21, 2014 by Kodii Systems

Sony adds over half a million books to Reader devices through Google

While I have the new Amazon Kindle 2, see my review, I also still own the Sony Reader PRS-505. I just received an email from the Sony eBook Store that informs me that over half a million free public domain books from Google will be supported by the Sony Reader PRS-505 and PRS-700 for free. I personally do enjoy reading the classics and many of these public domain books, but with my limited time to read I prefer newer books that I can get for a lower price on the Amazon ebook store.

March 19, 2009 by

MailShadowG syncs Outlook data to Google and thus your G1

After checking out my T-Mobile G1 review and reading how I was looking for a way to get my Exchange information on my device, Clay sent me an email with a link to the press release announcing MailShadow for Google Apps or MailShadowG. I have been using the free Google Calendar Sync tool to keep my Outlook/Exchange account calendar and Google Calendar synced up, but it would be nice to have full email, contacts, and calendar synchronization capability.

November 17, 2008 by

Obama faces BlackBerry withdrawal

Despite being a class-A CrackBerry addict, Barack Obama will likely be forced to go cold turkey from email when he takes office, The Times' Jeff Zeleney reports.In addition to concerns about e-mail security, he faces the Presidential Records Act, which puts his correspondence in the official record and ultimately up for public review, and the threat of subpoenas.

November 15, 2008 by

Weak US dollar starts to drive up mobile software prices

I am working on a full review of the excellent SoftMaker Office 2008 for Pocket PC and just received a note from the company that has an effect on pricing for U.S. buyers. Due to the fact that SoftMaker is a German company dealing in Euros, the significant loss in value of the U.S. dollar has driven them to make changes in their software pricing. SoftMaker reported in the email that when the Euro was introduced in 2002 it was about equal to the U.S. dollar, but the dollar has now fallen to be worth 60 percent less.

July 24, 2008 by

Mossberg's review of iPhone 3G: Newer, Faster, Cheaper

The Wall Street Journal's Walt Mossberg has been testing the iPhone 3G for a couple of weeks and today posted his review. As you'd expect, he loves the "between three and five times as fast" 3G networking, "wireless synchronization with corporate email" and the App Store which gives iPhone 3G "a chance to become a true computing platform with wide versatility.

July 8, 2008 by

Jon gets his Face(book) back

Remember Jon Swift's problem with Facebook? I just received a personal email from Jon Swift where he shared the following email:Hi Jon,Upon further review, we have decided to reactivate your account.

November 1, 2007 by

QuickOffice integrates Mail for Exchange on S60 devices

I am close to finally posting my review of QuickOffice for S60 devices, but QuickOffice Inc. keeps updating the software with new features. The latest feature will please those enterprise users and individuals who use an Exchange or hosted Exchange account since Mail for Exchange 2.0 support is integrated in QuickOffice Premier v4.5. Now when you receive email attachments they will appear in a Mail for Exchange folder within the QuickOffice file explorer. The free update for existing users went live late last night and I updated the software right from my device this morning.

October 3, 2007 by

Happy 10th anniversary, Ilium Software

I have been using mobile devices now for just over 10 years, which seems like quite a long time. I was a bit surprised and very happy to recieve an email from Julie stating that Ilium Software is also celebrating their 10th anniversary in the mobile device arena as mobile software developers. To mark the occasion they are having daily specials for everyone to enjoy with the first special being free products, including the excellent InScribe keyboard for Tablet PCs and UMPCs. I personally use their excellent Screen Capture utility to take review photos on my Windows Mobile devices.

June 4, 2007 by

iPods vs. everything else: An audio quality arms race? More like a fashion arms race

According to a story in Technology Review by John Borland (who used to work with me here at ZDNet), Sony is apparently hopeful that noise cancelling technology will give the company some advantage in the portable audio market against rivals like the iPod which happens to control 70 percent of the market. Wrote Borland:"Portable players of all types have sounded rather bad as far back as I can remember, but the iPod really surprised me," Blackwood said in an email interview.

October 23, 2006 by

BlackBerry 8700g

A faster processor, more memory and an enhanced screen resolution make the 8700g an improvement over previous BlackBerry models. However, there are some issues with keyboard usability and email attachment handling.

March 2, 2006 by

Users face prosecution if email is illegal

A case, presently under review by the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS), illustrates that users could face prosecution for possession of illegal data on computers, even if they are oblivious to its existence, or have not been involved in its creation.According to a letter sent to ZDNet UK News, a man - whose name cannot be revealed - has been charged with ‘producing and taking pornographic' images he says were sent to him via email.

November 27, 1998 by

The best of ZDNet, delivered

You have been successfully signed up. To sign up for more newsletters or to manage your account, visit the Newsletter Subscription Center.
Subscription failed.

Top Stories