It+review+applications

Showing results 1 to 20 of 39

Book review: Location-Aware Applications

Location, location, location: it's not just for estate agents any more. As smartphones take a larger share of both the phone and the computing market, where we are (or where we want to be) becomes ever more important.

September 7, 2011

Spoon dishes out application virtualization and streaming

Spoon (formally known as Xenocode) recently launched an application virtualization and streaming product set designed to deliver applications without the need for a traditional download and installation process. This means it would be possible for an individual to visit a website, review available Windows-based applications, click on an application and start using it nearly immediately.

June 27, 2010 by

iPhone Quickoffice update 3.0 adds Google Docs, Dropbox, and Box.net

I just turned on my iPhone to check for updated applications after reading that Navigon was updated with some very cool new features and discovered that Quickoffice Connect Mobile Suite version 3.0 (iTunes link) just became available today. This new version of Quickoffice has come a long ways since my earlier review and now lets you access documents through Google Docs, Box.net, Dropbox, and MobileMe accounts while also providing general product enhancements. Without file system access it has always been a challenge for developers of these types of apps to help you access your documents and this looks like a great way to provide that support.

February 9, 2010 by

Ovi Store rolls out in early beta form on the Nokia N900

I posted my full review of the Nokia N900 a couple weeks ago and mentioned that there were ways to get some applications on the device through different Application Catalogs. I popped my SIM in the other day and found a new firmware update available followed by activation of the Ovi Store link on the device. Tapping on the Ovi Store icon takes you to the store.ovi.mobi site in the web browser. This is the beta version of the Ovi Store that actually recognizes you are on the N900 and only shows you applications that are designed to work with the Nokia N900. By my count, there are currently 31 applications, 11 games, 33 audio/video pieces of content, and 9 themes.

January 13, 2010 by

Documents To Go for iPhone updated with global cut, copy, & paste support

I wrote up my review of Documents To Go with Exchange Attachments when it was launched on June 14th. Now that the iPhone 3.0 update and iPhone 3GS units are available people asked for cut, copy, and paste across the new OS. DataViz was quick to respond and today you can download version 1.1 of their Documents To Go products that includes this functionality. So now any place where you can cut, copy, and paste in the OS and applications you can now put that content into your Word documents as well.

July 7, 2009 by

Quickoffice for iPhone arrives in the App Store

I had a chance to sit down with the Quickoffice folks at CTIA and was extremely impressed with the application. Since you can never tell when applications will appear in the App Store I have been checking it every day and searching for Quickoffice. I was pleased to finally see it appear in the App Store (iTunes link) and immediately purchased it and installed it on my iPhone 3G. I will have a walk through video and review with several screenshots up as soon as I get a chance to spend more time with the application, but wanted to let you all know about it now so you could try it out too.

April 18, 2009 by

MobileTechRoundup show #166, New devices and missing social apps

James, Kevin, and myself were all a bit tired as we recorded MobileTechRoundup show #166 early this morning after a late night of watching March Madness. We started off the show by talking about how well CBS is supporting your ability to watch and follow the action just about anywhere. James has the Sony VAIO P in house for review and told us some of his first impressions. I also just picked up a new T-Mobile BlackBerry Curve 8900 and offered some thoughts. The E71 may be coming to AT&T next week and Kevin voiced his frustrations with finding a Facebook application for S60. This raised the issue of the lack of social applications on S60 devices. Dell launched the Adamo this last week, but we aren't really sure if it is a good device at this time of economic uncertainty.

March 21, 2009 by

Gameloft bringing 20 titles to the Google Android platform

I was reading through my feeds and stumbled upon the Mobile Tech Review post on Gameloft games coming to Android devices. According to the press release, 20 games will be available from them on the Android Market. While this is great news for the T-Mobile G1 and future Android devices, until Google or the manufacturers (currently only HTC) fix the problem with only installing applications on internal memory you won't be able to actually load up many of these games without getting constant low memory warnings. I see this error/notification every single day now with just over 50 applications loaded on my G1. Maybe I should try to uninstall some of these applications.

February 25, 2009 by

Exclusive hands-on: Android beats the iPhone to full GPS voice navigation

There are hundreds of applications now available for my T-Mobile G1 Google Android device (see my review) in the Android Market, but honestly there are only about 15 or so that I have kept over the long haul and use regularly. I imagine the quality and choice offerings will go up as soon as Google turns on the ability for commercial applications. Today, we found out that one very high quality application and service will be available for the G1 in just over a week. TeleNav is bringing the first GPS navigation service to the T-Mobile G1 on 24 February. You will be able to download it on that day from the TeleNav website and eventually from the Android Market. Check out my video below and the image gallery for hands-on experiences with this software on my G1.

February 11, 2009 by

Review: Spb Wallet 2.0 for the Apple iPhone

I have been using Spb Software's excellent applications on my Windows Mobile devices for years and was very pleased to see them branching out to support other mobile operating systems, including S60 and the iPhone. I posted a review of Spb Wallet for S60 devices and now that the iPhone version made an appearance on the iPhone App Store I can share my thoughts with you on this excellent application. With the large display and Safari integration, Spb Wallet is a real winner in my book. You can check out the full press release posted yesterday and my image gallery and video of the application in action.

February 9, 2009 by

T-Mobile G1 Android gets Opera Mini and visual voicemail

It seems like the gold rush of applications for the T-Mobile G1 (see my review) has slowed down considerably over the last couple of weeks with just a few apps trickling out here and there. I imagine most of this is because developers are waiting for the commercial functionality when they can sell applications in the Android Market. However, two applications I just found this morning when I turned on my G1 were Opera Mini 4.2 beta and Fusion Voicemail Plus and think these are both worthy applications you should try out on your G1.

November 24, 2008 by

T-Mobile G1 Android is jailbroken, provides app install to external card

My T-Mobile SIM continues to live in my G1 Google Android device (see my review) and I continue to be impressed with the Google integration and Gmail functionality. There are more and more third party applications appearing and I am liking the web browser more and more as I get used to the navigation methods. I just read on Ars Technica that the G1 has been jailbroken by those hard working developers over on the XDA Developers site. It is still early in the process and not everything has been made simple yet so if you are not adventurous then you should probably hold off performing the process.

November 5, 2008 by

MobileTechRoundup show #152, Lenovo X301, MSI Wind and Android thoughts

Kevin's been checking out the Lenovo X301 with integrated WiMAX and after hearing him talk about it on MobileTechRoundup show #152 I think he is getting closer and closer to picking one up for himself. I went ahead and purchased the MSI Wind and discovered it has a slightly different keyboard layout than the review unit I checked out and the differences actually have a major impact on usability. Kevin pointed me to a fix that is now working well on the device. James picked up a black T-Mobile G1 and it was good to hear his initial thoughts after Kevin and I have been checking the device out for a couple of weeks now. We talked about some of our favorite Android applications too.

October 26, 2008 by

Mobile software Monday: 11 3rd party applications from the Android Market

The T-Mobile G1 is showing up in the hands of those who pre-ordered one this week (mine is schedule for Tuesday arrival) and I have been seeing new applications appearing in the Android Market almost daily on my review unit. There are still a very limited number of games and I think only one or two were added since I started my review. I loaded up eleven applications (a couple of these just appeared yesterday) and took the below video of eight applications in action on the G1. I covered the Video Player in my full review since that was really an application that should have been included by T-Mobile and Google. As I stated in my full review you only get 128MB of onboard storage to load up applications and you cannot currently load them on the microSD card. With the eleven applications I tried, I only had 34MB of remaining memory. However, in looking at the space allocation settings it looks like your data is stored in this area too so if you have a ton of contacts and lots of calendar entries your space may fill up faster.

October 19, 2008 by

Secunia: popular security suites failing to block exploits

In a recently conducted comparative review, Danish security company Secunia, tested the detection rate of 12 different Internet Security Suites against 300 exploits (144 malicious files and 156 malicious web pages) affecting popular end user applications, to find that even the top performer in the test is in fact performing poorly in general. Their conclusion :"These results clearly show that the major security vendors do not focus on vulnerabilities.

October 14, 2008 by

Mobile software Monday: Handy Tools Pack for S60 devices

I am working on getting Mobile software Monday reviews up and running here again on my ZDNet blog, but there are so many devices coming in that it is tough to find the time to write about all the great software titles. The Nokia E71 (see my full review) is where my AT&T SIM card can be found sharing time with my Palm Treo Pro and I truly enjoy using this mobile device. I was looking for an easy way to switch between applications rather than having to go back to the standby screen or into the main menu area and a few people recommended I check out Handy TaskMan from Paragon Software Group. While looking for this utility, I discovered the Handy Tools Pack for S60 3rd Edition devices that includes 11 titles in one package for US$129.95 (savings of 49% if you bought them all separately).

October 13, 2008 by

Review: The Nokia E71 is a tough device to beat

It has been over 2 months since I wrote up my first impressions of the Nokia E71. At that time I was getting flooded with review and purchased devices such as the Palm Treo Pro, Samsung OMNIA, Touch Diamond, Treo 800w, MWg Zinc II, iPhone 3G and loads of applications with iPhone 2.0, Touch Diamond updates, and the iPAQ 910. Most of those devices are gone now, but the one that keeps earning the honor of carrying my AT&T SIM card is the Nokia E71. The fantastic hardware, valuable notifications on the standby screen, outstanding 3rd party application support, and form factor keep it in my pocket most of the time.

September 22, 2008 by

First public beta of Opera Mobile 9.5 coming on 15 July

I first had a chance to use the upcoming version of Opera Mobile 9.5 at Mobile World Congress on a SE UIQ device and since then I posted my full review and experiences using Opera Mobile 9.5 on the HTC Advantage X7510 and on the HTC Touch Diamond. It is one of the most anticipated mobile software applications I know of and for a very good reason. With the availability of it on a couple of these new devices, I was expecting it to have already been out in public beta mode by now. However, we just found out that the wait is almost over.

June 26, 2008 by

The best of ZDNet, delivered

You have been successfully signed up. To sign up for more newsletters or to manage your account, visit the Newsletter Subscription Center.
Subscription failed.

Top Stories