Patent+review+green

Showing results 1 to 20 of 32

ACCC gives Seagate-Samsung green light

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) has released its review on Seagate's proposed acquisition of Samsung's hard disk drive (HDD) business, and given it the green light.

December 18, 2011 by

Patent office reboots green tech patent program

Last week, I wrote about the government's plan to accelerate the handout of green technology patents, because I was perplexed by the fact that more companies weren't taking advantage of the program. Apparently, according to intellectual property experts, one reason for the slow uptake has been the fact that the classification categories it covered were very limited.

May 26, 2010 by

Time to bone up on green tech patents

Over the past several months, I've received various pitches from PR types representing intellectual property/patent lawyers focused on the green tech patent acceleration program announced by the Obama administration late last year.The idea behind that pilot was to accelerate the examination of green technology patent applications.

May 20, 2010 by

OIN spearheads review of Microsoft FAT patents

The Open Invention Network is making good on its pledge to try to overturn the Linux-related patents that were contained in Microsoft's recently settled litigation against TomTomNV.OIN announced today that three patents in the lawsuit -- including those the deal with the creation of long and short file names -- have been named for prior art review on the Post-Issue Peer-to-Patent website linked to the Linux Defenders portal.

April 27, 2009 by

Lord Stern: Downturn won't affect climate change efforts

Being green is all well and good but how long will companies continue to worry about the environment if the financial downturn affecting the US bites harder and really impacts the UK?That was one of the questions posed to Lord Nicholas Stern, of Stern Review fame, at a business conference this week held at Wembley Stadium in London.

April 30, 2008 by

T-Mobile Shadow first impressions; HTC and Microsoft reveal a refreshing UI

After checking out the BlackBerry Curve for a couple weeks I scheduled a time on my calendar to visit T-Mobile and pick one up for myself. However, the sun came out before my appointment and revealed the T-Mobile Shadow so I now had a choice to make at the local T-Mobile store. I went on 31 October, the release day for the Shadow, and the T-Mobile store in Seattle was packed. I checked out both the brown and green Shadow, as well as the Curve again, and a few minutes later I walked out of the store with a green T-Mobile Shadow. I have 14 days to decide if I am going to stick with the Shadow or go back and get the Curve so if you have any thoughts on why one is better than the other, feel free to leave a comment. My thoughts, video, and photo gallery below are my first impressions after about 6 hours of using the Shadow. I plan to post a more detailed review prior to my 14-day trial period expiration.

November 1, 2007 by

Patent reform effort in Congress

It looks like patent reform has a good chance of getting through Congress this year, with a reform bill introduced in both houses. According to Public Knowledge, the bill would replace the first-to-invent system with first-to-file, allow for review of patent grants after the grant has been made, provide for third parties to file patent-defeating documents and promulgate new rules on where suits can be instituted.

April 24, 2007 by

TechNet: 'Nuclear world is a green world'

TechNet, a bipartisan, political action group of high tech senior executives that promotes the growth of technology and innovation, hosted a dinner last night in Palo Alto to discuss some of its agenda items, which have included stances on education, patent reform, stock options and broadband and Internet policy. The newest agenda, a Green Technologies Initiative, was the subject of discussion last night.

November 15, 2006 by

Apple Insider, others get it wrong: the story is the iPodCam, NOT the Bezel

Yesterday, my post EXCLUSIVE: New Apple Patent art I show you here may point to iPod with camera wentinto specific details about how the functionality described in the patent application seemed to point to an IPod-like device with camera functionality.Although I did note that other sites had this story first, I've decided to go back and review exactly how they treated this issue.

October 30, 2006 by

The best of ZDNet, delivered

You have been successfully signed up. To sign up for more newsletters or to manage your account, visit the Newsletter Subscription Center.
Subscription failed.

Top Stories