Patent+voice+review

Showing results 1 to 20 of 38

Apple sues China govt agency in Siri dispute

The legal action comes after China’s State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO) rejected Apple's request to invalidate a patent by a Shanghai-based company which it claimed was similar to its voice-driven technology Siri.

March 2, 2014 by

TomTom arrives on the iPhone for $100

AT&T Navigator's subscription based GPS navigation solution (see our review) was the first full GPS voice navigation system for the Apple iPhone, but there is now some serious competition in the GPS navigation space that may even start knocking out dedicated PND. The biggest news today is that TomTom for the iPhone was released in the US. TomTom (iTunes link) is a well known name in PNDs and their iPhone solution is one of the most costly at $99. Other recent stand-alone (no subscription required) GPS navigation solutions for the iPhone include Navigon at a special $69.99 launch price and CoPilot Live for $34.99. There is quite a price range across these navigation solutions and we'll have to see if the high cost of TomTom is worth the premium over CoPilot Live 8.

August 17, 2009 by

Navigon's MobileNavigator brings offline voice guided navigation to the iPhone

The first voice guided navigation GPS system in North America for the iPhone was AT&T Navigator (see my review) that was launched back in June. I was very impressed with the software and service and used it quite a bit last weekend on an out of town trip where I brought no physical maps along. There are pros and cons to a connected, subscription-based solution and the major complaint is that a data connection is required for navigation. I just read a press release over on Gear Diary where Navigon announced the first navigation solution for the iPhone and iPod touch in North America (Navigon previously launched in Europe) where the maps live on the device so no active data connection is needed.

July 22, 2009 by

CoPilot Live GPS navigation solution now available for Google Android devices

I posted a full review of TeleNav GPS Navigator software on the T-Mobile G1 and for a long time it was the only voice navigation software for the platform. Today, ALK Technologies announced the release of CoPilot Live for the Android platform that can be purchased for $34.99 in the Android Market. It is designed to run on the HTC Dream (T-Mobile G1), HTC Magic, and upcoming HTC Hero. One of the major differences between this software and TeleNav's solution is that you download all the maps for your selected region and store them on your microSD card so that no data connection is needed for the full navigation experience.

July 1, 2009 by

Review: In depth look at AT&T Navigator voice navigation system on the iPhone 3GS

Back when I saw the TeleNav client come to the T-Mobile G1 I knew it was just a matter of time before we would see this application come to the Apple iPhone. It has taken Apple a lot longer than I thought it would for them to open up true voice navigation, but the 3.0 OS now allows for this functionality and TeleNav wasted no time at all in rolling out AT&T Navigator for the Apple iPhone. Check out my image gallery containing screenshots of the application and service in action, as well as my video below. The application is quite fast and responsive on the iPhone 3GS and is pretty full featured. There are some areas for improvements, but it is a great first start and I am excited to see it on the iPhone.

June 23, 2009 by

OIN spearheads review of Microsoft FAT patents

The Open Invention Network is making good on its pledge to try to overturn the Linux-related patents that were contained in Microsoft's recently settled litigation against TomTomNV.OIN announced today that three patents in the lawsuit -- including those the deal with the creation of long and short file names -- have been named for prior art review on the Post-Issue Peer-to-Patent website linked to the Linux Defenders portal.

April 27, 2009 by

T-Mobile G1 rumors, data only plan option and replacement battery

The T-Mobile G1 (see my full review) is currently the only Google Android device on the market and is available only from T-Mobile. There are a couple of rumors surrounding the G1 that I am trying to verify with my T-Mobile contacts. The first one concerns a possible US$20 price drop for the G1 and the option to purchase one and activate only a data plan for US$34.99 with no voice plan. The second rumor is that T-Mobile is sending new batteries to current G1 owners.

January 20, 2009 by

Inventor sues Google, Verizon, others on voicemail

Inventor Judah Klausner filed a voice mail patent lawsuit on Tuesday against Google, Verizon Communications, and others. Verizon has already sued Klausner over the validity of his patents.

August 26, 2008

BlackBerry Patent app boosts ability to simultaneously work with voice and data applications

A newly published BlackBerry Patent application entitled Advanced Voice and Data Operations in a Mobile Communications Device describes a technology that greatly eases these related processes.The Patent Abstract provides at least some insight into what is being proposed here:A system and method for integrating voice and data operations into a single mobile device capable of simultaneously performing data and voice actions.

October 18, 2007 by

Asterisk open source company "not worried" about Microsoft patent heat

Ever since the "patent infringement" hissing and dissing match between Microsoft and the open source community flared up earlier this week, I've been wondering how Asterisk open source solution providers are looking at this issue.True, none of the 236 open source patents Microsoft is claiming infringement upon directly relate to voice.

May 17, 2007 by

Patent reform effort in Congress

It looks like patent reform has a good chance of getting through Congress this year, with a reform bill introduced in both houses. According to Public Knowledge, the bill would replace the first-to-invent system with first-to-file, allow for review of patent grants after the grant has been made, provide for third parties to file patent-defeating documents and promulgate new rules on where suits can be instituted.

April 24, 2007 by

The best of ZDNet, delivered

You have been successfully signed up. To sign up for more newsletters or to manage your account, visit the Newsletter Subscription Center.
Subscription failed.

Top Stories