Millennium Bug

Showing results 1 to 20 of 147

Microsoft likely to patch zero-day next week

Summary: It looks like a fairly busy Patch Tuesday in December. There are two open zero-day vulnerabilities in Windows. It's likely there will be a patch for one, but not the other.

December 5, 2013 by Larry Seltzer

Chromebooks: Sometimes less is more

Summary: When it comes to mobile tech, it's not always best to go big if a lesser option makes more sense.

November 12, 2013 by James Kendrick

Windows 8 Blue continues Microsoft's tradition of confusing names

Summary: Some people find the Windows naming system confusing, and Blue continues the trend. But examine NT's history and it all makes sense, if only on the Planet Zog.

March 26, 2013 by By Jack Schofield for Jack's Blog | March 26, 2013 -- 16:39 GMT (09:39 PDT)

Windows XP is a ticking time-bomb with only 500 days to go

Summary: Although businesses have been upgrading from Windows XP for more than three years, the deadline is approaching, and there are still around 500 million users to move with only 500 days to go

November 23, 2012 by By Jack Schofield for Jack's Blog | November 23, 2012 -- 16:43 GMT (08:43 PST)

Soluto: The state of Windows 8

Summary: Does Windows 8 crash more or less than Windows 7? What devices is it installed on? How many BSoDs are users seeing per month? Soluto answers these -- and more -- questions.

November 16, 2012 by Adrian Kingsley-Hughes

Windows 8 is a one way street for consumer PC users

Summary: If you buy a Windows 8-powered HP consumer PC, or from any other PC vendor, you'll get no help from them if you decide you'd rather have Windows 7. And Linux? Forget about it!

November 8, 2012 by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols

Copyrights, APIs, and Oracle vs Google

Summary: Can application programming interfaces be copyrighted? The Oracle vs Google jury was instructed to rule as if they could be copyrighted, but the final call, and the fate of programming...

May 8, 2012 by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols

100 reasons to jailbreak an iPhone

Summary: It's perfectly legal in the US to jailbreak your handset. The Digital Millennium Copyright Act says so.

April 4, 2012 by Adrian Kingsley-Hughes

Five Reasons why Windows 8 will be dead on arrival

Summary: Microsoft's Windows 8 and Vista will have several things in common: Both are unwanted operating system updates that will flop in the marketplace.

February 6, 2012 by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols

Enterprise software under attack

Summary: Traditional enterprise has come under fire from both disillusioned users and unhappy managers.

November 2, 2011 by Michael Krigsman

Google Chrome hacked with sophisticated exploit

Summary: Security researchers from VUPEN have successfully hacked Google's Chrome browser with a sophisticated exploit that bypasses all security features, including ASLR/DEP and Chrome's heralded...

May 10, 2011 by By Ryan Naraine for Zero Day | May 10, 2011 -- 09:24 GMT (02:24 PDT)