'

Google adds Undo Send as default setting to Gmail

While it's still unavailable on hosted emails for companies, Gmail web users will be able to cancel a sent message seconds after sending it with the Undo Send setting.

In its latest Google apps update, the company has officially released its "Undo Send" function as a formal setting in Gmail on the web.

Undo Send allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent message immediately after sending it.

google-undo-send.png
(Image: Screenshot by Aimee Chanthadavong/ZDNet)

Gmail users have been using the Undo Send feature since it was first introduced to Google Labs in 2006. For users who have been using the Labs version of Undo Send, the setting for the feature will be turned on by default.

For other users, the feature is turned off by default and can be enabled in Gmail settings.

Undo Send was also recently added as a function to Google's Gmail interface alternative, Inbox.

In testing by ZDNet, the feature has yet to appear for some companies that use Gmail, but has been deployed on others.

Google said given the commencement of the roll out only started on Wednesday, all Gmail accounts are expected to be able to use the Undo Send feature shortly.

Updated 4.35 pm AEST 24 June 2015: Google provided clarification behind why some Gmail users could see the feature, and others could not.