Each and every time I check Google has turned on Web History on my account. I keep turning it off and deleting the history that it has collected. When I come back later, it's back on again.
What do you suppose is happening? I don't really know, but I think it is really irritating when I turn off a Google function and it comes back by itself.
At one point, I thought it was my T-Mobile G2 that was re-enabling that function. When I check from the device, it appears to be turned off there.
Google is clearly emulating big brother with this and the instant personalization functions. Both allow themselves to be killed, but come back as zombies immediately.