​South Australian government restructures without CIO

The South Australian government has dumped Brett Morris as chief information officer as part of a restructure, and will replace his position with a director of Digital Government.

The South Australian Department of the Premier and Cabinet (DPC) has undergone a restructure in which the Chief Information Office has been dissolved and replaced by Digital Government.

"I firmly believe that the reforms being undertaken to change structures, simplify process, and improve work practices will ensure that DPC is best placed to excel in supporting the priorities of the government on behalf of the people of South Australia," DPC chief executive Kym Winter-Dewhirst said in an internal email that was distributed late last week.

As part of the reshape, South Australian government CIO Brett Morris has been dumped, alongside "several existing executives".

In the meantime, Rick Seaman will take up the director of Digital Government position, before someone is officially appointed. Others in acting positions include Spencer Briggs as chief technology officer, Anthony Mackay as director of Shared Services SA, and Wayne Hunter as director of Services SA.

Chief operating officer Phil McMahon reassured that despite the restructure, the director of Digital Government will continue to lead the government's "digital by default" agenda, which has aimed to see all government services go online.

"Our commitment to transforming our online presence and transactions for the benefit of South Australians remains strong," he said.