/>
X

Photos: High-tech 'Mona Lisa'

Homage is paid in true geek style to Leonardo da Vinci's portrait of La Gioconda.
18042.jpg
1 of 2 Bill Detwiler/ZDNet

computer scrap Mona Lisa

Fans of "The Da Vinci Code" or TV's "Alias" series may be able to find a conspiracy theory to explain this melding of computer technology and classic art, but none comes readily to mind. At the very least, it's a novel way to recycle e-scrap.

Taiwanese electronics maker Asustek Computer has crafted this replica of the "Mona Lisa" from obsolete motherboards--the image is easier to discern the further you scooch your chair away from your monitor. It's on display at the 9th China Beijing International High-tech Expo.

18043.jpg
2 of 2 Bill Detwiler/ZDNet

Close-up on a chip

A close-up of the enigmatic smile--not to mention CPUs, memory chips and solder.

For a gallery of images, from a tiny train to Marvin the Martian, rendered deep within silicon, click here.

Related Galleries

Chargeasap Flash Pro Plus
Chargeasap Flash Pro Plus in action

Related Galleries

Chargeasap Flash Pro Plus

10 Photos
Galaxy S21 FE 5G, Huawei P50 Pro, Sony Xperia Pro-I, and more: ZDNet's reviews roundup
poco-m4-pro-5g-in-hand.jpg

Related Galleries

Galaxy S21 FE 5G, Huawei P50 Pro, Sony Xperia Pro-I, and more: ZDNet's reviews roundup

11 Photos
LinkOn 130W USB-C car charger
LinkOn 130W

Related Galleries

LinkOn 130W USB-C car charger

4 Photos
Apple 16-inch MacBook Pro, Microsoft Surface Go 3, Huawei MateBook 14s, and more: ZDNet's reviews roundup
linksys-velop-wifi-6-ax4200-card.jpg

Related Galleries

Apple 16-inch MacBook Pro, Microsoft Surface Go 3, Huawei MateBook 14s, and more: ZDNet's reviews roundup

16 Photos
DJI Mavic 3 in flight
Superb aerial camera platform

Related Galleries

DJI Mavic 3 in flight

10 Photos
Satechi Dock5 Multi-Device Charging Station
Satechi Dock5

Related Galleries

Satechi Dock5 Multi-Device Charging Station

6 Photos
Satechi USB-C Hybrid Multiport adaptor
Satechi USB-C Hybrid Multiport adaptor

Related Galleries

Satechi USB-C Hybrid Multiport adaptor

10 Photos