Facebook adds better security: tracks the location of your logins

Summary:Yesterday I noticed that Facebook added a new section to my settings page: the ability to keep track of every time and place I've logged in.Every time you login to Facebook, they try to estimate where you logged in, from using your IP address.

Yesterday I noticed that Facebook added a new section to my settings page: the ability to keep track of every time and place I've logged in.

Every time you login to Facebook, they try to estimate where you logged in, from using your IP address. In my case, the router is in Walnut Creek, Ca., but it's not too far away from where I am right now (San Francisco).

When I logged into Facebook this morning, I was greeted with this message, asking me to add my computer to the "trusted devices" list:

The best feature of this update is that you can get notified by SMS or email if a new computer or mobile device logs into your account.

But the real question is, when someone else accesses your Facebook account, will you have enough time to login and change your password? Facebook should not let any devices login to your account unless you verify them.

I'm really glad they've added this feature though; it's a big step in their privacy efforts, and makes the web more secure in general.

Topics: Social Enterprise, Security

About

Andrew Mager is a hacker advocate at Spotify in New York City. Before moving to NY, Andrew worked at SimpleGeo & Ning in San Francisco. Previously, he was an associate technical producer at CBS Interactive. Andrew studied print & electronic journalism at Virginia Tech, where he created a student-run online news publication called Planet B... Full Bio

zdnet_core.socialButton.googleLabel Contact Disclosure

Kick off your day with ZDNet's daily email newsletter. It's the freshest tech news and opinion, served hot. Get it.

Related Stories

The best of ZDNet, delivered

You have been successfully signed up. To sign up for more newsletters or to manage your account, visit the Newsletter Subscription Center.
Subscription failed.