Twitter will tell you when a user blocks you

Twitter will tell you when a user blocks you

Summary: Twitter users are now being told that they are being blocked by another user. Whether it is a bug, or designed as so, it is not clear.

SHARE:
6

Under the 'New New' Twitter, which was recently announced, users are now informed when another user is blocking them.

In form of a bar notification at the top of the page, when a user goes to follow or tweet a user that is blocking them, they will be informed that they cannot do so -- "(because they're blocking you)".

(Source: Twitter)

Twitter only used to inform you that "something went wrong" when a blocked user attempted to re-follow that user.

While Twitter does not actively inform users that they have been blocked from following, replying to, or direct messaging other Twitter users, it does state that users "may notice".

I'm sure there are a tonne of third-party applications that could tell you through simple means whether a user has been blocked.

But for Twitter to outwardly and overtly state, in rather a blasé way, that a user is blocking them cannot be a bug in the system. Someone has written that into the code and clearly makes no bones about it.

For the record, I don't blame @arrington from blocking me on Twitter. Suffice to say, I could have been nicer.

Related:

Topic: Social Enterprise

Kick off your day with ZDNet's daily email newsletter. It's the freshest tech news and opinion, served hot. Get it.

Talkback

6 comments
Log in or register to join the discussion
  • RE: Twitter will tell you when a user blocks you

    More like "Twitter lets you know that a user is blocking you". Not Twitter tells you when a user blocks you. You're not gonna know until you try to follow them
    mike2k
  • RE: Twitter will tell you when a user blocks you

    Which is better, them stating that you're being blocked? Or saying "something went wrong" ad infinitium, making your site look like an ill-designed piece of junk.

    It's fine. There's no such thing as secretly blocking someone. It's like getting a restraining order on somebody and not telling them until the police are cuffing him.
    Aerowind
  • RE: Twitter will tell you when a user blocks you

    I thought Twitter already did this prior to the "new new Twitter"?
    ebuzzedge
  • RE: Twitter will tell you when a user blocks you

    This is not a new feature. Here it is back in May 2010: http://www.mediabistro.com/alltwitter/blocked-from-following_b5748
    ebuzzedge
  • RE: Twitter will tell you when a user blocks you

    I think it should be in plain sight when ever you visit the page/user in question.
    That would let me know to move on right away.
    daboogiemansass
  • THis is not new.. look at this screenshot

    http://homes.esat.kuleuven.be/~lsassama/TSA-twitter-blocked.png

    and I actually recall on the #oldoldtwitter it had a similar message..
    kemeny_x