The Great Debate Series

Summary: Each week, ZDNet hosts The Great Debate, a real-time look at the big technology topics of the day and what they mean. Bringing together respected tech experts to debate the hottest tech topics of the day, the series aims to emulate an Oxford-style debate, with a dash of Fight Club mixed in. We expect -- and encourage -- your participation in this forum.

Current Debate

Do we really have a right to be forgotten?

Jo Best

Jo Best

Steve Ranger

Steve Ranger

This May, Europe's top court ruled that search engines must consider requests to exclude material that is "inadequate, irrelevant or no longer relevant" from search results.

Past Debates

Time to abandon Gmail?

Last year Gmail passed Hotmail to become the world's most popular email service. But that was then.

November 11, 2013 -- 07:00 GMT (23:00 PST) Moderated by Jason Hiner

159 Comments

Should parents spy on their kids?

Should mothers, fathers and legal guardians be equipped with the same mobile device management technology that we seek for our enterprises?

October 14, 2013 -- 07:00 GMT (00:00 PDT) Moderated by Zack Whittaker

65 Comments

Bitcoins: The future of money?

The FBI's shutdown of Silk Road rekindles discussion about the prospects for that site's preferred currency.

October 7, 2013 -- 07:00 GMT (00:00 PDT) Moderated by Andrew Nusca

63 Comments