The Great Debate Series

Summary: Each week, ZDNet hosts The Great Debate, a real-time look at the big technology topics of the day and what they mean. Bringing together respected tech experts to debate the hottest tech topics of the day, the series aims to emulate an Oxford-style debate, with a dash of Fight Club mixed in. We expect -- and encourage -- your participation in this forum.

Current Debate

Do we really have a right to be forgotten?

Jo Best

Jo Best

Steve Ranger

Steve Ranger

This May, Europe's top court ruled that search engines must consider requests to exclude material that is "inadequate, irrelevant or no longer relevant" from search results.

Past Debates

Great Debate: Are $200 tablets a game changer?

Do the arrival of Amazon's Kindle Fire and Barnes & Nobles' NOOKColor herald digital convergence for the rest of us? Jason Perlow and David Morgenstern face off.

November 14, 2011 -- 07:00 GMT (23:00 PST) Moderated by Jason Hiner

64 Comments

Great Debate: Bring your own device

Is Bring Your Own Device only a great idea until you try to manage it? Ken Hess and Heather Clancy each make their case in this week's debate.

October 17, 2011 -- 07:00 GMT (00:00 PDT) Moderated by Lawrence Dignan

76 Comments

Great Debate: Can Whitman turn around HP?

Can Meg Whitman turn around HP? Jason Hiner and Larry Dignan debate whether HP's latest CEO can fix all that ails the computing giant.

September 26, 2011 -- 07:00 GMT (00:00 PDT) Moderated by Andrew Nusca

94 Comments