OLPC

Showing results 1 to 20 of 578

After OLPC, does IT in education have a future?

Summary: IT in schools can be a powerful tool for students in emerging nations, but we've got to think about more than just the hardware. Here, one school offers a glimpse of how tech really...

March 24, 2014 by By Adam Oxford for African Enterprise | March 24, 2014 -- 10:54 GMT (03:54 PDT)

Sponsored by SAP

Is Technology the Great Educational Leveller?

Summary: Technology has been hailed as ‘the great leveller’ that will make education and opportunity available to all. Overpromising? Read these three stories before you make your call.

October 29, 2013 by Diarmuid Mallon

One Laptop per Child reaches 20K devices in Aussie schools

Summary: Not-for-profit organisation OLPC Australia's new program, One Education, has now distributed 20,000 computing devices to schools throughout Australia, with a celebration held last...

October 22, 2013 by By Corinne Reichert | October 23, 2013 -- 00:43 GMT (17:43 PDT)

First solar-powered Linux laptop

Summary: A new kind of laptop, the SOL, is being designed for the great outdoors and it's powered by sunlight and it will be running Linux.

August 9, 2013 by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols

Lenovo announces ThinkPad Chromebook for schools

Summary: Lenovo will offer a Chromebook version of its ThinkPad X131e for the education sector. The Chromebook will be sold only to schools for grades K-12.

January 17, 2013 by James Kendrick

Microsoft punts reduced-cost Windows 8 devices for schoolkids

Summary: Microsoft has launched a scheme to knock 30 percent off Windows 8 devices for UK schools, while Steve Ballmer has paid a visit to Downing Street to promote a new programme to tackle...

November 8, 2012 by By Jon Yeomans | November 8, 2012 -- 17:02 GMT (09:02 PST)

Sponsored by SAP

India's Aakash-2: iPad Guts In A Miraculous US$21 Android Tablet

Summary: The world's cheapest computer is back on track, says the New York Times, which praises version 2 of the Aakash tablet for its solid technology.

August 7, 2012 by By Eric Lai for ÜberTech | August 7, 2012 -- 20:42 GMT (13:42 PDT)

Cloud Computing: the 4th IT Industrial Revolution!

Summary: China is projected to be on par with the U.S. as a future technology innovation leader -- and the next big breakthrough is predicted to come from cloud and mobile.

July 6, 2012 by By Gery Menegaz for Five Nines: The Next Gen Datacenter | July 6, 2012 -- 19:23 GMT (12:23 PDT)

Budget 2012: OLPC gets cash, praises govt

Summary: Rangan Srikhanta, CEO of One Laptop Per Child (OLPC) Australia, has praised the government for its decision to provide a grant of over $11 million to the foundation as part of this...

May 8, 2012 by By Luke Hopewell | May 9, 2012 -- 04:33 GMT (21:33 PDT)