gplv3

Showing results 1 to 20 of 168

Mavericks' SMB2 problem and fixes

Summary: No, it's not just you. Apple's Mavericks is having trouble connecting to some network-attached storage and file servers. Fortunately, there are ways to fix it.

October 28, 2013 by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols

GitHub improves open-source licensing polices

Summary: GitHub, the popular open-source development community site, is finally getting its licensing act together. It's high time since Black Duck has found that 77-percent of GitHub projects...

July 18, 2013 by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols

SuperN64 (N64 Emulator)

SuperN64 is a very fast N64 emulator for Android phones. Play your favorite N64 games on your phone or tablet!You need to place your own game files...

June 26, 2013 by SuperN64 Games

Open-source MariaDB, a MySQL fork, challenges Oracle

Summary: MariaDB, the MySQL fork database management system, is throwing down the gauntlet to Oracle by forming a foundation to promote its alternative DBMS software.

December 4, 2012 by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols

Ubuntu 12.10 Beta 2: Preview

Summary: Ubuntu 12.10 (Quantal Quetzal) is shaping up to be a controversial release, with a solution for dual-booting with Windows 8 and a new online scope for Dash search providing Amazon...

September 27, 2012 by By Terry Relph-Knight | September 27, 2012 -- 09:22 GMT (02:22 PDT)

Preventing open source software contamination

Summary: Sometimes you have to move slowly to get ahead in the long run.

April 10, 2012 by By D’vorah Graeser, Graeser Associates International, Special to ZDNet | April 10, 2012 -- 13:18 GMT (06:18 PDT)

Citrix submits CloudStack to Apache

Summary: The gambit is to take CloudStack and make it an open source juggernaut to build cloud architectures that resemble Amazon Web Services.

April 2, 2012 by Larry Dignan

Google needs to take back Android from the OEMs

Summary: Is Google to blame for the fragmentation of the Android OS and delayed updates, or does the blame lie with the OEMs and the mobile carriers?

March 27, 2012 by By Scott Raymond for Tech Broiler | March 27, 2012 -- 12:20 GMT (05:20 PDT)

Microsoft reluctantly bows to Linux users

Summary: Why will Microsoft be releasing a persistent virtual machine feature on its Azure cloud platform so users can host Linux? Because that's what its customers want.

January 2, 2012 by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols

Microsoft contributes open-source code to Samba

Summary: Microsoft has contributed source code under the GPLv3 to Samba, the file server software that enables Linux servers to share files with Windows PCs. No, I'm not making this up.

November 2, 2011 by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols

Samba makes change to enlist corporate developer support

Summary: The Samba project has announced the creation of a certificate that will enlist participation by corporate developers. The process is similar to the way developers engage in the Linux...

October 12, 2011 by By Paula Rooney for Linux and Open Source | October 12, 2011 -- 11:47 GMT (04:47 PDT)