Government IT Agenda Setters 2010: How was it compiled?

The experts who helped create the list

The experts who helped create the list's Government IT Agenda Setters 2010 list honours those individuals who have the most influence on the technology decisions made by government in the UK.

The list is an acknowledgement of the overhaul of public sector technology that is currently taking place, as the need to find savings from the public purse drives government towards new IT systems and delivery models.

The list was compiled with the help of politicians, tech industry leaders and suppliers, each with years of experience of either delivering or working with technology in the public sector. These experts nominated the individuals they believe will play the greatest role in shaping government IT decisions over the coming years.

The experts who helped create the Government IT Agenda Setters 2010 list are:

  • Sarah Burnett, senior analyst, Ovum
  • Sureyya Cansoy, director of public sector, Intellect
  • Earl of Erroll, member, Parliamentary Information Technology Committee
  • Martin Ferguson, head of policy, Socitm
  • Jerry Fishenden, co-founder and director, Centre for Technology Policy Research
  • Paul Green, CIO, Sheffield City Council
  • Nick Heath, senior reporter,
  • Lee Hewett, managing director, Capita IT Services
  • Richard Holway, chairman, TechMarketView
  • Dr Nicola Hodson, Microsoft UK public sector chief
  • Mark Lyons, UK lead, Accenture Health and Public Service group
  • Catalina McGregor, ITUT Liaison Officer for the OECD and the EC, United Nations Agency
  • Alun Michael MP, chairman, Parliamentary Information Technology Committee
  • Georgina O'Toole, research director, TechMarketView
  • Steve Ranger, editor,
  • Elizabeth Sparrow, president, BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT
  • Matthew Swindells, chairman, BCS Health
  • Nick Wilson, UK managing director, HP