/>
X

Ice Cream Sandwich looms with Samsung, Google date

Samsung and Google are going on a date in Hong Kong and having some Ice Cream Sandwich.
rachel-king-640x465.jpg
Written by Rachel King, Staff Writer on

The next version of Android OS, the absurdly-long titled Ice Cream Sandwich, is expected to drop by the end of the year.

We'll be getting another taste of what will be the fourth evolution of the mobile operating system -- the first optimized for both tablets and smartphones at the same time -- next week.

Furthermore, we will also likely be seeing new devices that will be running Ice Cream Sandwich now that Google and Samsung are co-hosting a media event in Hong Kong on Wednesday, October 19.

Few other details have been revealed except for the use of an Ice Cream Sandwich Android logo in the email invite, but we'll all know in less than a week thanks to a live stream of the event on YouTube.

Scheduled to start at 10:00 am HKT on Wednesday, here's a rundown for U.S. watchers of when it will start for you during the evening of Tuesday, October 18:

  • Eastern Time: 10:00 pm
  • Central Time: 9:00 pm
  • Mountain Time: 8:00 pm
  • Pacific Time: 7:00 pm
  • Alaska: 6:00 pm
  • Hawaii: 4:00 pm

Related:

Related

Are you ready for the worst Economy Class airline seats in the world?
airline-seats.jpg

Are you ready for the worst Economy Class airline seats in the world?

Business
Remote working vs back to the office: Benefits are clear, but there could be trouble ahead for some
A middle aged man in casual attire sat at his computer desk speaking to colleagues via a split-screen video chat application

Remote working vs back to the office: Benefits are clear, but there could be trouble ahead for some

Professional Development
Microsoft Azure-certified roles are well-paid, and you can study for certification for $39
replace-this-image.jpg

Microsoft Azure-certified roles are well-paid, and you can study for certification for $39

Deals