Live Q&A: Patriot Act in Europe; Are you safe and secure?

Live Q&A: Discussing the laws around cloud based practices with the ZDNet community, in light of the recent Patriot Act in Europe news.

Since Microsoft's admission that their cloud services -- and therefore others, including Google, Amazon and Apple -- in Europe and further afield are not safe from U.S. inspection when the Patriot Act is invoked, many have found themselves asking questions that have gone unanswered.

It has provoked a great deal of conversation, but also uncertainty. The European Parliament is now aware of the issue, and will be drawing up plans over the summer recess and determine the next steps to protect European customers.

Join me here live today, Thursday 14th July at 12pm PT / 3pm ET / 8pm GMT, to discuss live the reach of the Patriot Act in Europe and further afield.

This is your opportunity to strengthen your business or educational practices through community learning and open discussion.

Do you need to know whether your current cloud arrangement is secure? Are you putting your clients and your data at risk to foreign law enforcement? Do you have any questions relating to best cloud-based practices?

It will be an opportunity to ask questions and get your answers. From cloud security to cross-border data transfer, or even web applications and the reach of U.S. (and other laws) to cloud-based services.

Background reading:

Also read ZDNet’s Patriot Act series: