HTC has warned customers that they need to download all their contact, message and call-history data from its backup service, as the information will be deleted at the end of April.
HTCSense.com was introduced in 2010 as a way of letting people back up key data in the cloud, and to make it easier for them to re-sync that data with new HTC handsets. In a blog post on Monday, the Taiwanese device maker said it will carry out "a renovation to improve the services", and that this will require the deletion of all the information currently backed up on it.
"Until the new services are ready, features previously available on HTCSense.com will be shutting down. If you have been using HTCSense.com to sync your Contacts, Messages, Footprints or Call History, you can download your data through April 30, 2012. After April 30, your data will no longer be accessible and will be deleted," the blog post said.
"If you would like phone location or backup services for your device, please visit Google Play (formerly Android Market) and download an application that best meets your needs," the post added.
In February, HTC said it is readying a major upgrade to its related Sense user interface. The version 4.0 update will plug into Dropbox for its cloud storage needs, the company said at the time.
Until the new services are ready, features previously available on HTCSense.com will be shutting down.– HTC
What happens after the "renovation" of HTCSense.com remains a mystery. ZDNet UK has asked HTC's representatives whether the backup services will return in some form, when this is likely to happen, and what was wrong with the services already in place. The company has not yet provided any answers to these questions.
However, HTC did send over a new statement in which it said it was renovating its services "in response to customer feedback", and so as to "provide a more enhanced customer experience".
The device maker also noted that, although the data is still available for download, the backup and restore functionality of HTCSense.com has been disabled since 19 March.
Get the latest technology news and analysis, blogs and reviews delivered directly to your inbox with ZDNet UK's newsletters.