I received the following e-mail confirmation when I unsubscribed from a software company's newsletter today. Is the whole notion of permission and opti-in/out so difficult to understand? What does this message mean to you?
Goodbye from our Newsletter, sorry to see you go.
You have been unsubscribed from our newsletters.
This is the last email you will receive from us. We have added you to our "blacklist", which means that our newsletter system will refuse to send you any other email, without manual intervention by our administrator. If there is an error in this information, you can re-subscribe: please go to (link) and follow the steps.
Best I can tell, I'm on their blacklist (?), can never again receive any e-mail from them without an administrator's manual intervention, and can re-subscribe at any time by clicking on the provided link.
My kingdom for a copy editor!