In our testing on two iPhones, the Pokémon Go app didn't explicitly ask permission for full account access when logging in with a Google username and password. By this point, it should have told us what data the app needs. Instead, it simply skipped straight to the app's terms of service, which makes no reference to the full account access.
Under the hood, you've given the app and its creators access to your search history, personal information, Google Photos, everything in Google Drive, search and location history, and more.
Not only can the app read your data, inbox, calendar events, and search history, it can also modify it. That's usually reserved for trusted apps, like browsers and mail clients -- such as Google Chrome -- and not games or most other apps.
Google says on its help pages that the full account access privilege "should only be granted to applications you fully trust, and which are installed on your personal computer, phone, or tablet." Most apps and games generally ask for the minimum requirements, such as your basic contact information.
Niantic, the game's creator, said that "the Pokémon Go account creation process on iOS erroneously requests full access permission for the user's Google account."
"However, Pokémon GO only accesses basic Google profile information (specifically, your User ID and email address) and no other Google account information is or has been accessed or collected," it read. "Google has verified that no other information has been received or accessed by Pokémon GO or Niantic."
Many have used their Google accounts because the company is overwhelmed with sign-ups. Because of the massive influx of users in the past week, the account sign-up page is spotty and often unavailable. Given the popularity of the game, many are instead signing up with their Google accounts, but not realizing the massive privacy invasion.
Now would be a good time to put your privacy first, and your game second.
You can revoke the app's access to your Google account, but the downside is that you may lose your game data.
Here's what you can do
If you did sign up with your Google account, here's how to revoke access: