Did you know that Evernote has a version management system built right into the software?
This feature is only available to premium users, but it's worth it. If you make a major change in a note and want to recall what was there previously, Evernote's history feature can save your bacon.
There's another limit to this feature: it doesn't appear to be available from Web or mobile versions of the software. But if you use either Windows or OS X, you will have access to a rich history capability.
Aside: this helps support the case I made a few days ago when I wrote Precision, depth, and flexibility: the ultimate difference between PC software and apps. While Evernote's mobile and Web versions can be useful, you don't get the depth of features on these collateral devices like you do when you can load the full desktop version.
In any case, the way you get to the history feature (and I'm doing this now on a PC, but you could just as easily do this on a Mac), is to open any note. In the upper right corner of the page, you'll see an Info button (it might just be an "i" in a circle). Click it.
As you can see in the image above, a pop-up will appear and at the very bottom will be a History field you can click. If you click it, like I did on this particular note, you'll see a list of earlier dates you can recover and view.
What about notes you delete? As it turns out, when you delete a note in Evernote, it goes into Evernote's own trash. Just find the Trash folder, remove the note, and you should still have your history.
By the way, I'm doing more updates on Twitter and Facebook than ever before. Be sure to follow me on Twitter at @DavidGewirtz and on Facebook at Facebook.com/DavidGewirtz.