Twitter rolls out algorithmic timeline by default: Here's how to disable it

Your timeline will now appear out of order by default.

twitter-algorithm.png

Twitter has made a major change to its service on Thursday, rolling out an algorithmic timeline by default, as it hopes to attract new users by making it easier to find content.

This is a 180-degree turn from the reverse chronological order timeline Twitter has had since it launched in 2006.

Twitter began testing the algorithm-based timeline in February, but it was opt-in. It's essentially an extension of its "While you were away" feature that recaps tweets based on what Twitter's algorithm thinks you want to see.

twitter-timeline.jpg

The feature is beginning to roll out to users, who are seeing a "Never miss an important tweet" prompt at the top of their timeline on both mobile app and desktop.

Luckily, it's very easy to turn off and gets you back to the old Twitter experience:

  1. Go to the "Me" section of Twitter's mobile app.
  2. Click the settings icon next to your avatar.
  3. Select the account you want to change the settings for.
  4. Tap "Timeline personalization".
  5. Disable "Show me the best Tweets" first.

For desktop users, the process is the same. Navigate to "Show me the best Tweets first" under Settings.

For the average person, an algorithmic timeline could mean the noise of Twitter is kept out, something Jack Dorsey, CEO of Twitter, has been thinking about deeply.

"We continue to show a questioning of our fundamentals in order to make the product easier and more accessible to more people," Dorsey said in July.