/>
X

Here's how to opt-out of Google Chrome's Privacy Sandbox (FLoC) trials

Kind of odd that turning off something called Privacy Sandbox might actually improve privacy.
adrian-kingsley-hughes.jpg
Written by Adrian Kingsley-Hughes, Contributor on

Google may have delayed rolling out the Federated Learning of Cohorts (FLoC), which is the company's alternative to the third-party cookie, but some Google Chrome users are finding themselves part of a trial for FLoC coming under the name Privacy Sandbox.

According to some (such as the EFF, for example), this new feature raises new privacy risks.

Want to opt out of the trial? 

Here's how.

Must read: These three simple tips will keep your iPhone safe from hackers

First off, are you running Chrome on a Windows/Mac/Linux, or Android:

  • On Windows/Mac/Linux, type chrome://settings/privacySandbox into the address bar and hit Enter.
  • On Android, open the Google Chrome menu, then tap on Settings > Privacy and security > Privacy Sandbox.

There you'll see a page about the Privacy Sandbox, and there you'll also find a toggle (you might need to scroll down a bit). If you don't see this setting, then you're not part of the trial.

Flip the toggle to off, and you're out of the trial.

Note: This feature does not yet seem to be present in Google Chrome on iOS

Turning this feature off in one browser should disable it on all devices logged into the same Google Account.

Google has more information about the Privacy Sandbox here.

Related

How to set up offline access in Google Drive
The Google Drive Offline Access Extension.

How to set up offline access in Google Drive

Productivity
How to make a file available offline with the Google Drive Desktop Client
The macOS Finder window showing the virtual Google Drive link in the sidebar.

How to make a file available offline with the Google Drive Desktop Client

Google
This new Windows 11 privacy feature shows when apps access your microphone, camera or location
Concentrated female employee typing at workplace using computer. Side view portrait of a copywriter working on pc home.

This new Windows 11 privacy feature shows when apps access your microphone, camera or location

Security